Interview with Abdoujaparov, 19.11.2014

I still can't believe it, but I get an Interview with Les Carter from Abdoujaparov - I'm really glad and thankful for his spontaneity! Hope you'll enjoy it in the same way like I do! Here it comes!

MiD: When you think back, what do you think about the years between 1976 und 1981?

Les: They were the years when I went out into the world, got my first steady girlfriend, went to my first gigs, learnt how to get very drunk. I taught myself how to play guitar and how to write songs. I had a proper job for 4 year at the Ministry Of Defence, that was the experience that taught me that I wanted to be a musician, not a clerk.

M: Were The Housemartins an important influence to you?

L: I loved the Housemartins, but I wouldn’t say they were that much of an influence.

M: How much influence had the spirit of the Punk-era, on the spirit of Carter U.S.M.?

L: Hugely. The politics, the anger, frustration and the noise.

M: How do you see Carter U.S.M. today?

L: Now that we are about to do our final gigs, I see us as a band who played some great gigs, wrote some very good songs and made some superb albums. I am very proud of what myself and Jim Bob did. I’m hoping that the resent publicity we have had has helped us become unforgotten in rock history. I believe we deserve a small space there.

M: When you've started with Abdoujaparov, what was the intention back then? - or was it just one of many projects, that you'd start, around that time?

L: Abdou started with a few songs that I wrote after Carter broke up. When we were recording the Dave Mini Album, we were watching a lot of the Tour De France. Djamolidine Abdoujaprov, was a real cycling star in those days and not a little punk rock in his attitude. I told Jim Bob that if I ever had another band I would call it Abdoujaparov.

M: Who influences the sound of Abdoujaparov?

L: I wanted to go back to basics, to be in a band that was fun and punky. The same influences are always there in my writing. A mixture of 70’s glam rock and 1977 punk rock, with a little added Simon & Garfunkel.

M: Do you remember on the first Abdoujaparov-gig?

L: Yes, I do. It was at Water Rats in Kings Cross London (currently a furniture shop). I was a bit nervous as I hadn’t sung lead vocals in a band since my teens. But I think it went down ok. We are a million times better now of course. (smile)

M: How are the Abdoujaparov-gigs in Australia?

L: Myself and Richy Abdou go over together and we have a pool of amazing Australians who help complete the band over there. It is the best kind of holiday.

M: How was it to record the first Abdoujaparov record?

L: The first single was just me recording it at home, which was really easy. The first album though was a bit tricky. It took a lot of effort to try and recreate the energy we had live.

M: How do you see the first Abdoujaparov record (Air Odeon Disco Pub) today?

L: I haven’t listened to Air Odeon Disco Pub for a few years. We still play some of the songs from it though and I still think they are great songs.

M:'Do it myself', where from came the inspiration to the song?

L: That song was born out of the frustration of literally having to do everything myself at that time. Also from having a bit of a writer’s block for songs at the time. With Carter there was always Jim Bob to bounce off, but with Abdou, mainly due to my megalomania I end up making all the decisions myself. My life has changed a lot since writing that song though and I definitely wouldn’t write it now.

M: What means 'Married to the Rock' to you?

L: After seeing AC/DC that year, I wanted to write a ‘balls-out’ no nonsense rock song. I didn’t want it to be clever or witty. It was based on the life of a career roadie that I know, who has been working for bands since he was a teenager and is still doing it now after 50 odd years. He is truly married to rock.

M: How was it this time, for the 'Seaside Arcade Bingo Patrol' recordings, going to the studio?

L: This time the recording was very easy. We got most of it recorded in a few days. The mixing however took ages as I continued to re-write the songs after they were recorded. Micky, who produced and mixed the album is a proper genius. He was very patient with me and I am really happy with the way it turned out.

M: What songs from the album made the most impact on you?

L: I think ‘Where I Belong’ is my favourite song from the album. I wrote it when I moved down to my new home town of Folkestone. I had recently split up from a long term relationship and this was a completely new start for me.

M: When the record was done, how was your feeling?

L: Huge relief, I spent a year worrying that it wasn’t good enough. When I finally had the courage to let people listen to it, they all loved it.

M: Can you say something to the Artwork of the record?

L: Every Abdou album will have a four word title that somehow explains where I am and what I’m feeling at the time. I just chose images that I though illustrated the title. It makes a rather nice t-shirt too. (smile)

M: What can we expect from Abdoujaparov in the future?

L: 2015 is going to be very busy. We already have loads of gigs booked up and are planning to record a fresh EP in Feb. The songs are already written though, so we might do it earlier. This year was a great one for us and we have many new fans. I hope that we can build on that.

M: What do you think about the today radio?

L: I only listen to BBC 6 Music, which is a great radio station. I was a DJ myself for a few years, but got bored with modern music.

M: What do you think about the today London?

L: When I go back to London these days it’s like entering an alien world, it is so busy, so full and so noisy. I still love London, but I am glad that I moved away.

M: Thank you for taking time!

L: Thank you.

User Status

Du bist nicht angemeldet.

Aktuelle Beiträge

Interview with Abdoujaparov,...
I still can't believe it, but I get an Interview with...
knopfloch-online - 9. Dez, 19:04
Festival der Volxmusik...
Es scheint, das sich mit diesem Abend für mich ein...
knopfloch-online - 12. Okt, 22:18
I'd a dream! A dream...
Tief in der Nacht, jenseits vom knalligen Alltag, hatte...
knopfloch-online - 17. Apr, 15:58
Abdoujaparov – Live in...
Durch dicht belaufene Straßen such ich meinen Weg,...
knopfloch-online - 9. Apr, 21:53
Fest van Cleef, 30.11.2012,...
Die Glückshormone tanzen immer noch im Kreis. Was für...
knopfloch-online - 1. Dez, 12:36

Links

Suche

 

Status

Online seit 4404 Tagen
Zuletzt aktualisiert: 9. Dez, 19:04

Credits


Festival
Hinterm Vorhang
Interview
various ages
Profil
Abmelden
Weblog abonnieren